The Elect Saga

A four part space opera series set in a distant part of the galaxy filled with pirates, bounty hunters, traders, explorers and strange aliens. Inspired by the space trading and combat simulation games of the 1980s and 1990s.


Status Quo

A brilliant scientist uncovers a terrifying plot to begin a galactic war. Aided by a talented, but reluctant and embittered combateer, he must stop the deployment of a super weapon he invented…

A weapon so powerful it threatens to destroy entire worlds.

Status Quo is part one of the Elect Saga.


About Status Quo

Status Quo is the first of the four books that compose the Elect Saga.

Status Quo is Drew’s earliest novel and is inspired by the space based computer games of the 1980s and the 1990s. It’s a straight forward space opera, featuring plenty of “pew pew”, a naive scientist and a gritty heroine, scheming, politics and a remorseless and mysterious alien race.

The Elect Saga takes place in a the far future in a remote part of the galaxy. There, humans are not the only sapient lifeform. Spacecraft are crewed by felines, insectoids, bird-forms and many other exotics species.

Recently updated and modified to bring it in line with modern standards, Status Quo remains a fast-paced space opera adventure in the grand tradition!


“You can see the inspiration of space computer games like Elite, Freelancer, Wing Commander and Descent. Drew clearly played a lot of these in his youth, but is able to turn those foundations into a fabulous and original space adventure amongst the stars!”


When a series of linked murders forces TradeCon to outlaw the shadow organisation known as the Obsidian Ring, a mysterious top secret document must be found in order to stave off a galactic conflict. The document contains a devastating secret, the key to power, domination and control.

A secret as old as space travel itself, the location of the legendary planet “Enigma.”

Mutabilis is part two of the Elect Saga. 

About Mutabilis

Mutabilis expands on the characters and situations we were introduced to in Status Quo.

In particular it adds a lot of depth both to the universe of the Elect Saga and to the two main characters the stories revolve around. You think you know them? Think again…

This time our heroes have to locate the mystery planet “Enigma”, that most people don’t believe even exists. Space-faring types consider it a myth or a legend, but is there some truth behind the tales that filter back from the furthest reaches of space? And what does that have to do with the mysterious organisation known as the Obsidian Ring that supposedly guards Enigma?

Recently updated and modified to bring it in line with modern standards, Mutabilis remains a fast-paced space opera adventure in the grand tradition!

“A gripping plot from the start, characters and scenes that are the result of a very creative imagination and lucidly expressed.”

“Superb, surpassed yourself again. Beautifully executed.”

“Drew just has a knack of writing characters you love or hate… sometimes both at the same time!”


The Swarmers, an intelligent race of space-faring insectoid-like creatures, have always existed on the edge of inhabited space. Whilst many human vessels have succumbed to spurious and random attacks in recent years, all out war with this strange alien race has been avoided.

But now, something has changed. Swarmer starcraft, powerful, fast and dangerous are invading TradeCon space and nothing seems able to stop them.

With star systems falling to the invaders on a daily basis, a desperate plan is hatched to deal with the aliens once and for all.

Incursio is part three of the Elect Saga.


About Incursio

Incursio provides much greater depth and insight into the strange alien race known as the Swarmers and the other strange creatures that inhabitat the galaxy of the Elect Saga.

These formidable creatures have never attempted to communicate with humanity, but seem irrevocably hostile and merit a “shoot on sight” response from all human spacecraft.

With superior technology, more often than not, the Swarmers are victorious in combat.

Recently updated and modified to bring it in line with modern standards, Incursio remains a fast-paced space opera adventure in the grand tradition!

“Yep… had to stay up late and finish that one in a single read. Where do I go to get a refund on a good night’s sleep?”

“You can’t leave it there… what happens next?”

“Weird alien stuff going down, crazy bunch of heroes. This is what we want. A perfect Space Opera!”


With the alien menace poised to overthrow the galaxy a lone group of combateers is all that that stands between them and total annihilation.

When one of their number is kidnapped by the aliens and their plans thwarted, the group must decide whether to mount a rescue and risk losing the war, or sacrifice her for the greater good of humankind.

But strange and uncomfortable truths are unearthed, which indicates all is not what it seems with the war against the aliens.

The path to victory is complicated by lies and untruths from those that were once considered trusted allies…

Finis is the fourth and final part of the Elect Saga.


About Finis

Finis completes the Elect Saga by telling the story of how the war between TradeCon and the Swarmers was finally concluded.

As always there are grand set pieces, daring escapes and plenty of action, with a plot that twists and turns throughout, never landing where you expect it to.

A great injustice has been served upon the galaxy are our heroes are the ones who have to sort it out…

Recently updated and modified to bring it in line with modern standards, Finis remains a fast-paced space opera adventure in the grand tradition!



“Why does it have to end? Thank goodness Drew has written some other stuff too, on to the Shadeward Saga now!”

“Going to miss these characters, such fun hanging out with them in a strange and wonderful galaxy!”

“Can’t be the end, surely? We need more adventures!”